gentleman wanted.

To the future love of my life,

I haven’t met you yet. I’m not entirely sure where you are hiding, but someday we will find each other and it will be magical. I will look into your eyes and know absolutely that I was made for you, that you were the reason I was created. I will hold your hand and feel your love in your touch. I will see it in your smile. And I will fall a little bit more in love with you everyday.

I am not perfect (I know, how surprising). I have a sarcastic edge that can be too sharp. I can let my words run away from me. I retreat into myself when things become a bit too much. I can be a bit thoughtless and not the most compassionate. Sometimes, I don’t like to say what I’m thinking even when you ask. And for these things, I am sorry. They are not a reflection of you, but of the person I can be when I don’t let God in. They are the problems I must work through, not the problems I want you to fix. But if you would lend me your strength and kindness, I would appreciate it immensely.

I want you to be yourself. I want you to be exactly the person God created you to be. I want you to be open and honest with me. I want you to be comfortable around me, and not feel as though you have to act like the perfect gentleman. I want you to pull the book out of my hands, tell me to get dressed up, and take me out for the evening. I want you to show me off, because I’ll be showing you off whenever we’re together. I want other women to be a bit jealous that I found you first. I want you to look at me like I’m the only thing in this whole world, because that’s how I’ll be looking at you.

I cannot wait to make promises to you. I can’t wait to stand in front of family and friends and vow to love you and only you for the rest of my life. I can’t wait to mean what I say and what I promise. I can’t wait to put my ring on your finger after you slip yours onto mine. I can’t wait to call you my husband while you call me your wife. I can’t wait to give myself to you completely. I long for the day when I can fall asleep in your arms and awake to your kisses. I can’t wait for you to hold me through the night as I drift off to sleep. I can’t wait for the nights when we can’t get to sleep, when we keep touching and caressing and making love until the sunrises. I can’t wait to see your smile first thing in the morning.

I hope that we can be patient with each other as we approach life together. I hope that we can build a home of love, laughter, and joy. I hope that we can find humor in the small things and not worry about the little details. I hope that you can tolerate my love of reading. I hope that you will ignore the loudness of my family and come to love it like I do. I hope that we can have wonderful children, and I hope I can see your smile when they call you daddy for the first time. I hope that we can travel the world. I hope that we can share our lives with each other without hiding anything.

I pray for you. I pray that God meets you wherever you are in your walk with Him. I pray that you will be ready for me whenever God decides for us to meet. I pray that you will be strong in your faith, so we can share that faith with each other. I pray that you will be the man you want to be, and you will see that you are the perfect man for me. I pray that you will be happy until we meet. I pray for us both to avoid temptation, knowing that waiting will make everything that much better.

I am waiting for you, love. And someday, when we finally run into each other, I will smile and thank God for leading me to you.

4 thoughts on “gentleman wanted.

Leave a Reply

