the little things

After my post last night about prayer, I began to think about things I don’t usually tell God I’m thankful for. Then earlier today, I read a post on a lovely blog about being thankful and how to show it. I’m trying to learn how to take the hints that God gives me (despite being observant, I have a tendency towards obliviousness). So here goes, the little and forgotten things in life I truly appreciate.

Thank you for rainy mornings. Thank you for the perfect cup of coffee. Thank you for the moment when I blink and then everything falls into focus, and I see the world as You intended. Thank you for a family with a high tolerance threshold. Thank you for the smell of fresh rain and cut grass. Thank you for everyday I wake up and every night I fall asleep. Thank you for moments when I smile for absolutely no reason. Thank you for friends who understand that I’m horrid at texting, calling, and facebook messaging. Thank you for words on a page. Thank you for hope, love, and mercy. Thank you for forgiveness. Thank you for understanding and being patient. Thank you for teaching me the hard things. Thank you for coupons and sales. Thank you for happy endings. Thank you for the family I will someday have. Thank you for always listening. Thank you for my mistakes. Thank you for trees, leaves, and all things green. Thank you for country music. Thank you for never giving up on me. Thank you for second chances. Thank you for salvation. Thank you for scarves and cardigans. Thank you for boots. Thank you for a dad who gets me and a mom who forgives me. Thank you for sisters who make me think. Thank you for the Holy Spirit. Thank you for the years I spent in school. Thank you for stories I have yet to write and the books I have yet to read. Thank you for sunsets. Thank you for weekends. Thank you for providing before I think to ask. Thank you for loving me in spite of everything. Thank you for creating me. Thank you for accents. Thank you for ampersands and semi-colons. Thank you for my sense of humor. Thank you letting me laugh at myself. Thank you for comforting me. Thank you for loving my family and friends. Thank you never letting me be alone. Thank you for holding the nightmares at bay. Thank you for daring me to dream.

Just, thank you.

Leave a Reply

